Let’s cook some Arduino together

29 04 2010

Here we are… the final project is in front of us. What am I going to do? Don’t know yet exactly. I’ve picked 4 words that synthesize my starting point: social, collaborative, performance, esthetic.
In the other hand, some of my schoolmates suggested me to work with food. I don’t think I would like to work with food, because it is my passion and I don’t want to reinforce the Italian stereotype. But. I also thought that there is something that embrace these words, that I’ve already experienced: making the homemade pasta together. So, I thought that this could be an interesting experience using the same process, doing something completely different. Something that if you do alone is so boooooooooring and take toooooooo much, but if you do it together it has some kind of magic…like learning physical computing for someone that has no knowledge about it.
I was thinking… how can I merge this with something that has no smell or taste? I said to myself….let’s start from the experience! So I asked some friends to help me, and teach me an Arduino recipe, and make it together.

Yesterday, the first cooking lesson happened for real, with Jacek Barcikowski as grandma that know the secrets of homemade pasta.
I have to say, it was amazing to learn with him. The experience was much closer to making pasta than I expected.
Work with hands, drinking coffee, gossiping… everything seems so easy!

We took a project from instructables, Jacek had the components already, because he wanted to make this little robot for a long time, but he never had the time. So for him, teaching me something was also an opportunity to do something he couldn’t do. Even reading some instructions (I hate instructions!!) is not that boring, if you share it, like it was an horoscope.

I’ve learned how to hack a 180° degree servo and turn it in a 360° one.
And also how make it work with Arduino…AMAZING!
As for the pasta process, in the end, you have this feeling of “l’ho fatto io!” (I made it!)

It was also interesting to observe the people walking in the room, and how they were catched by the project, hanging around, giving suggestions etc.

Azioni

Information

Rispondi

